How To Use “Altered Text” in a Journal Page – (or at least how I did it)

Starting... with somebody else's words..

Starting… with somebody else’s words..

Editing videos always seems like such a mammoth task to me, because it’s something I’ve not really done before. I’ve been putting it off and have video footage sitting waiting, but something else always come up.

Well I decided to just go for it and give it a go. I started with the video introducing the Guinea Pigs and then went straight into this one. I LOVED IT!! It’s just like creating another piece of artwork as you play with it, piece it together and mould it just how you like it. I even contacted Trace Bundy and asked if I could use his music in my videos. I didn’t even think he would reply but because this is what I listen to when I paint – I thought it would be nice for you to hear that too. He did reply – and said yes!! I’m off to see him in September LIVE! Can’t wait.

So… getting off the point really (no change there then – oh shiny thing!) here is my first edited art video. I wanted to show you how to use “Altered Text” in a journal page.. Just in case you don’t know “Altered Text” is where you use either a magazine page, page from a book, photocopy of a page etc… and you then find your own statement within that sheet of paper among the words… instead of you cutting out words and sticking them on in the order and sentiment you want – you have to search and let the page speak to you…

I really hope you enjoy it – and that it inspires you to give it a go! Also let me know what you think.. it’s always good to get some feedback – even if it is just a “HIYA!!!!” – otherwise it’s a bit of a lonely place, (and people think I’m strange when I leave the house because I’ve not had any adult interaction for a while… very strange!) :D This page was actually started late at night – then I left it and went to bed. I then had one of those days – one where I think I experience every single emotion all before 12pm. Joy, pride, excitement, sorrow, understanding, empathy, deep sadness, anger, rage then peace. It was a very busy morning. I felt overwhelmed and thought I was going to spiral into despair at the overload… so I picked up my journal and just did. This is the result.  I wasn’t thinking of the art.. just getting out of my own head.

There will be plenty more where this came from! Take care!

Hearts, hugs and giggles..

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Loved watching the vid and your whole process. gorgeous outcome and doodle detail in hair just set it all off. Inspiring x x

    Reply
  2. loved your video and can’t wait to see more! What kind of markers are the ones you used with water?

    Reply
  3. Cynthia McCoy

     /  May 26, 2013

    Great video! I love watching the creative process. Each time it looked done to my amateur eye, there was more. Just beautiful! Thank you for sharing. :)

    Reply
  4. Loved your video and how the page turned out. And will have to try this “Atlered Text” system soon. I only have one book to take pages from at the moment, but that will probably work OK. Can you tell me what you used to edit your video?

    Reply
    • Than you Shirley! Glad you enjoyed it and go do some – that’s a must! It’s very liberating and fun. I use a professional editing software package – any editing software really.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • I’ve WON AN AWARD!!!

    I designed the badge then got awarded it too! :D

  • PiBoldMo participant image
  • Join me on:

  • Illustration Friday

  • Cultivate your life

  • Blog Challenge

    /

