I don’t want to go to School Mum – by Pam Ayres

I don’t want to go to school Mum

I want to stay at home with my duck.

I’d rather stay home with you Mum,

And hit the skirting board with my truck.

Don’t make me go to school today Mum,

I’ll sit here quiet on the stairs

Or I’ll sit underneath the table

Scratching all the varnish off the chairs.

 

I don’t want to go to school Mum,

When I could be underneath your feet.

It’s shopping day and we could go together

Taking twice as long to get to Regent Street.

And every time you stop to talk to someone

I won’t let you concentrate, no fear!

I’ll be jumping up and down beside you

Shouting ‘Can I have some sweets Mum?’ in your ear.

 

Or how about me doing a bit of painting?

Or what about a bit of cutting out?

Or sitting in the open bedroom window

Body in and legs sticking out?

Or what about us going up the park Mum?

Or how about me sitting in the sink?

Or what about me making you a cake Mum?

And Mum. Hey Mum. Mum can I have a drink?

 

Mum what’s that at the bottom of the cupboard?

And Mum, what’s that bag you put down there?

And hey Mum watch me jump straight off the sofa,

And Mum, whose dog is that stood over there?

What you doing Mum? Peeling potatoes?

Sit me on the drainer watching you

I wouldn’t mind me trousers getting wet Mum,

Oh I aren’t half fed up. What can I do?

 

What time is Daddy coming home Mum?

What’s in that long packet? Sausage Meat?

How long is it before he comes Mum?

And Mum. Hey Mum. What can I have to eat?

Oh sorry Mum! I’ve upset me Ribena.

Oh look! It’s making quite a little pool.

Hey Mum, hey, where we going in such a hurry?

Oh Mum! Hey Mum, you’re taking me to SCHOOL!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “I don’t want to go to School Mum – by Pam Ayres

  1. I have been a fan of Pam Ayres for many years – thanks to my Mum who had a couple of her poetry books on the shelf. I’ve seen her in concert at the Civic Theatre 3 times now – the first was when I was 25 and she was celebrating 25 years of being on opportunity Knocks which is when her career really hit it off. I met her in 2007 at a book signing after one of her shows and she was so lovely. She had the time to talk for a bit too. Hoping to go and see her again in september in Norwich.
    I thought I’d share this poem today as I love it!

  2. Pingback: Poetry | 6 Lachlan @ MLC

  3. That is not a Pam Ayres poem…. the scansion is terrible and it’s full of spelling mistakes… Also the sentiment of it doesn’t make sense… Pam may use open, full, rhymes, but her points are sharp and her rhyming is clever…

    • Hey Tanya – this is a Pam Ayres poem, I actually copied it from one of her books – although you were right about the spelling they were mostly typing errors that have now been corrected. This is some of her early work I believe but it certainly is Pam… thank you for your comments – I’ve cleaned up the errors.

Leave a Reply

